POST 23: REFERENCES TEACHING FOR LIFE LONG LEARNING

Aspiring learners is one of my main priorities as a teacher. My proposal investigates how best to achieve this and therefore to develop my teaching skills.

Assessment strategies have been proposed in the National Improvement Framework to reintroduce National Tests and League Tables (Muir, 2015). Both initiatives aim to improve attainment in students but at the same time increase the pressure on Teachers to ensure attainment. I agree that learning and teaching is key to improving achievement and attainment. For this reason my proposal focuses on my CPD in dance teaching styles. I also focus on the vocational skills of students to enhance their performance and aim to link them to foster a  sustainable pathway that meets with aspirational targets.

Assessment strategies need to match their use and to show progress (Ellis, 2015). This applies to progression in the curriculum and also in my proposal. For students to progress I must analyse data gained through assessment and identify next steps in my teaching and for my proposal.

Externally driven change has limited impact on the classroom or fail to reflect on the original intension of those promoting the change (Donaldson, 2015). This suggests my reflective practice and research into the areas I feel are important to my teaching are most likely to benefit my development and that of the students in my care.

Through my proposal I must ‘engage with the evidence of emerging practice and to contribute to our collective understanding of the learning and teaching process’ (Donaldson, 2015).

Critically, within this proposal I ‘should have professional values that place the learning and wellbeing of young people at the heart of all that they do’ (Donaldson, 2015). This drives excellent teaching and is integral to future teaching in Scotland.

Examples of learning for life (Wilkins, 2015, 32-35).

Example of an initiative (Wilkins, 2015, 36-37) where students showcase their work at the end of a national teaching plan which promotes exploration of their character, values and ideals. The products are judged as part of a national competition. The showcase of products inspires students and teachers. This could be a template for the product of my proposal and to promote my dance teaching.

How good is our school 4 (HIGIOS 4is a passionate and committed approach to ensuring social justice, children’s rights, learning for sustainability and equality in Scottish Education. Meeting this initiative promotes an excellent educational system and  requires leadership. partnership, shared values, wellbeing , social justice, and equality. All stake holders need to be actively involved in self-evaluation.

I am ‘only at the beginning of realising the full implication of this new way of thinking and working (Churchill).

References:

Muir, K (2015) Teaching Scotland: 21st Century Explorers, How Teaching Can Change the World. 61, 8-9. General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS).

Ellis, S (2015) Data: More Than Numbers. Teaching Scotland: 21st Century Explorers, How Teaching Can Change the World. 61, 12-13. General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS).

Donaldson, G (2015) Shaping the Future-One small step for teaching; One giant leap for education. Teaching Scotland: 21st Century Explorers, How Teaching Can Change the World. 61, 16-17 General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS).

Wilkins, E (2015) Learning or Life-Preparing youngsters for an uncertain future through learning for sustainability.Teaching Scotland: 21st Century Explorers, How Teaching Can Change the World. 61, 32-35 General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS).

Wilkins, E (2015) A Lesson in Character-Helping learners to develop confidence an self-belief. Teaching Scotland: 21st Century Explorers, How Teaching Can Change the World. 61, 36-37 General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS).

How Good is Our School 4 HIGIOS 4

Leave a Reply

