POST 30: LIFELONG LEARNING

I was presenting a talk to parents at the primary 7 induction evening last night. As I was discussing the vocational skills within the CfE course, I became aware the parents were more interested in the lifeskills. I discussed how working together, using ICT, literacy, active learning, critical skills, added value units, health and wellbeing were integrated through the vocational subject.

I also discussed how the surrounding area and topical issues within it would be incorporated into learning. How the learning of boys would be supported and how the course would provide them with the skills needed to succeed within the industry.

Why shouldn’t kids from a low economic area achieve? The parents agreed.

I begin my proposal by discussing what the CfE promises children and how as a teacher I must adapt to fulfil this. Although I digress into how the warm up and stretching benefit young people and in particular boys, I can not lose sight of the fact that what and how I teach will impact their understanding and skills for life, work and learning.

Leave a Reply

