POST 43: INTERVIEW WITH DANCE STUDENT

The students response to the dance questionnaire are in blue and my thoughts in relation to my proposal are in red.

Dancer questionnaire

1. Identify dance qualities you would like to improve and areas of your training which would support these.

I would improve my feet as movement starts here and I could point more

I would improve my back as I arch it and have placement issues.

My teachers sorted this using floor barre where I work both my back and feet in isolation and can observe if I point my toes.

The student is open to new ways of working if they can see the benefit. I was surprised that the student aimed for body structures rather than a dance movement. This shows that they are focussing on body imaging and positioning. The activities describe involve stretching, range of motion and strengthening which are the focus of my proposal.

2. Explain how you warm up before class.

I do my own warm-up which copies movements the teacher used.

I know that a warm-up should contain cardio, then head, shoulders, ribs, hips and feet, more cardio then long stretch on the floor. I would follow this with sit-ups, barre stretch and splits.

The student has a clear idea of what a warm should contain but having observed them in class I noted the sit-ups, static stretch and splits at the end of the list were the focus of their warm-up. This suggests discrepancy in understanding of the benefits of the components of warm-up.

3. Identify which teaching styles benefits you most during warm ups.

I prefer teacher-led because I know what I’m supposed to be doing. I wouldn’t mind attending any class because I know it would be good for me. I would do improvisation if it was guided or I knew what the movement was suppose to be first.

I also prefer teacher-led styles. I notice in lessons that learners who are beginners to dance or have not been taught by the same teacher for long prefer teacher-led techniques and then can be progressed to teacher-guided and improvisation. I have observed the improved range of quality which can be achieved by teacher-guided warm-ups. I am eager to research which is most effective.

4. Suggest if measuring aspects of movement could benefit your dancing.

I like the idea of working in pairs and analysing what I could improve on and the correction. I wouldn’t want to be in competition but would like to see if I’ve improved. I wouldn’t mind measuring others.

I feel that boys might be suited to measuring and this will provide a link to research and mathematical skills as required by CfE. I was intrigued by the processing of this student as they thought about the idea and their body language changed as though it might be actually be quite useful. I would never negatively contrast two students.

5. Describe how your teacher adapts dance lessons to benefit males.

The Jazz teacher changes girly movements to make them more suited to boys. At the end of class the teacher changes the curtsy to a bough for boys.

The boys in the class had not been catered for in strength building, ROM or jump height. The only were made in the Jazz class and not in ballet or contemporary. This proposal should highlight how exercises  should be modified to differentiate to meet developmental needs of boys.

6. Outline the ways dance supports your lifelong learning.

I’ve just finished my HND exams and I am looking forward to having dance as a professional job. I have been opened up to other styles of dance. Because of the negative feedback I received in dance learned to change this into a positive and I have become more dedicated. My mind set has been changed for ever in a positive way. I follow my heart more rather than doing what I should. I have taken what I have learned and now teach the same to the students I teach. I work with the teachers who once taught me and I feel I now have a positive mind set for the future.

I think that dance teachers focus too much on the best dancers and give them praise and give us all the things we need to sort one week before assessments without time to sort it.

This student has learnt vocational dance but they lifeskill development is far more interesting. They have a positive mind-set and a clear idea of what will benefit practice. They have learned to use criticism to improve them. They also chatted at the end about the great friends they have gained during this process. I feel research skills would allow this experience to be analysed and used in teacher training.

 

Leave a Reply

