POST 109: Self-evaluation questions

Practitioner Enquiry Presentation: Task Sheet.

Section A. Individual.

  • How successful is my planning of my professional learning?

Likert Scale: 1                  3           4          5

Planning was not great. I met the next criteria as I was issued with it as it was not easy to predict the next activity.

  • How effective is my development of approaches such as reflection, enquiry and collegiality/collaboration?

Likert Scale: 1         2           3           4          5

I find that using the blog pages helps my reflection. I tend to think better when I type and even if the thoughts don’t appear in the text I have processed more. I felt the task where I linked my blogs to the GTCS requirements was laborious but showed where I had to focus my next blogs.

I have become more reflective by completing a reflection wheel and blogging about the gaps in my learning and teaching. I consider the feedback I give to others based on the whole school feedback discussion and teacher activities.

Enquiry has made me analyse areas of my practice I would like to improve. I have made links with national problems faced by CfE teachers and comments made by SQA.

My research is at the core f linking dance and science. The link fits with CfE initiatives and provides other viewpoints. I have collaborated with other students on the RCS course during online sessions, weekend workshops, on out Facebook page and with the dancers through snap chat. I have designed my research so that I can collaborate with other practitioners in other schools. I felt each occasion let me see they had similar problems in course work and in their practice. I have felt great and unexpected support from members of the MEd team (especially when I arrived late to a session and when delivering my ppt). A massive thank you. I have also experienced the opposite. I wonder if others noticed. The later I ignore but have noted.

  • How well do I use existing research and my own professional reading to inform my planning?

Likert Scale: 1         2           3                    5  

My proposals powerpoint and blog entries show evidence of my professional reading and consequently inform my planning of aims, introduction, procedures and proposals to date.

  • How well do I achieve a blend and balance of my professional learning activities? What evidence do I use to support this?

Likert Scale: 1         2           3                    

My blogs provide evidence of videos, journals, activities, classes , teaching , observations which I have been involved in. I would love classes to make me more technically proficient again and classes which have a high standard of teaching at all levels with new ideas for choreography, teaching and learning.

Section B. Group.

  • In your groups discuss your own strengths and weaknesses

My major weakness is the lack of ability to promote myself as a knowledgeable person with loads of skills and ideas. People with less understanding are flying by and it is frustrating.

Weakness and continual battle is my technical proficiency and age!! One of these I attend classes to maintain.  The other is gradually getting worse!! I work super hard all the time to try to show what I can do and often feel others get more for less.

Strengths are hard to comment on. I have been told I am enthusiastic and lively when teaching and I love teaching dance/fitness. I love being creative with choreography and like using a theme. I use imagery and props to inspire different learning style and care that my learners are progressing. I have a strong understanding of research and would love a channel to show what I can do.

  • Share ways in which you reflect (self-evaluate)

I reflect on all my teaching essays and dancing to see how I can progress. I like a focus to improve as there is a million things which could be sorted. I have completed SWOT analyses, reviews of my blogs against GTCS standards, I voice all moans on my blogs and often delete the major ones after.

  • Discuss what you hope to gain from self-evaluation

My main problem with self-evaluation is how to move forward and often self-evaluations though thorough lack this essential section. I find it easier to show others how to progress.

  • Devise a workshop activity which you can lead at the next collaborative staff meeting in your school

I have planned a dace fitness activity for girls who have not danced before and girls who are into their fitness for girls into fitness day 2016. This will involve planning with Active Schools and the PE/Music department.

Section C. Group.

What is Learning?

  • Working in groups, consider what you consider constitutes learning.

The acquisition of knowledge or skills through study, experience, or being taught.

  • How can Practitioner Enquiry impact on learning (teacher and pupil)?
  • Attempt a definition…
  • Feedback to the others

Practitioner enquiry develops the teachers’ ability to do their job, their understanding of the field, and view the situation which exists in their field, objectively. Practitioner enquiry is the study of a social situation with a view to improving the quality of action within it. Practitioners will contribute both to the practical concerns of people in an immediate problematic situation and to the goals of social scientists by joint collaboration within a mutually acceptable ethical framework. For the teacher themselves, classroom action research helps them in investigating problem encountered in class and finding the solution. Giving the appropriate and effective teaching learning process to students is the major responsibility of a teacher. Providing appropriate and effective teaching learning process, a teacher should know, the concrete situation of the class. A teacher is not only a practitioner who does what is commanded by school principal or minister of education so their work is less bias. Besides that, the teacher should also be able to try varied method in teaching learning. Conducting classroom research in seeking appropriate and effective teaching learning, teacher uses systematic strategy for collecting information from the setting. The classroom researcher is prepared to build valid inferences from a reliable, rich data base of direct research in natural setting which will therefore benefit the learning of students with different learning styles and individual barriers to learning. Students achievement and attainment can only be benefitted as long as research does not impact on current learning and teaching time.

Dissemination is essential for sharing of results from enquiry and encouraging others to perform enquiry. Methods of dissemination include

Post a question online and ask for answers through social media e.g facebook

Informal discussions within the department.

Publications.

Funding.

Sharing software, books/resources, websites

Classroom observations.

Use of ICT to share resources/ plans or activities.

Network meetings and focus groups within one school or partner schools.

Section D. Group. The following questions are answered in my proposal and powerpoints

  • What’s the problem?
  • What is causing you and your students the most problem/s
  • What aren’t they getting?
  • What is causing you the biggest ‘headache’?
  • Is this a widespread problem (nationally?)
  • How does it relate to local and national policies, and the four capacities (successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens, effective contributors)?

Section E. Group.

Leave a Reply

