POST 123: REVIEW PPT PRESENTATION

MY QUOTE FOR TONIGHT ‘WHAT TO DO —> LINK TO THE PROBLEM’

I felt that I finished  the presentation in good time. I spoke the presentation rather than reading it and this I felt resulted in an honest delivery. I focussed on including the key points required but this left less time for reflection and I missing a couple of points I had hoped to include.

I felt I did not reflect enough on my current practice. Others stated what they currently did and linked this to their reading and observations. I did state the learning models I used and linked through them in my powerpoint but I did not provide specific examples in action.

My literature was not presented in a critical manner. I stated the key sections of literature linked to my enquiry but did not contrast methods or findings. The methods in all but one of my researched examples were quantitative and very similar, reducing the scope for comparison. I did not emphasise the tracker programme I would use was a novel approach never mentioned in literature or in relation to dance or science. I felt I could have discussed and contrasted the findings of my literature research more. I cropped this section too much to fit in the time given.

In my methods think I forgot to mention that the interviews would be completed before and after the quantitative enquiry to determine if there was changes in opinion. I noticed I did not link my current practice to the enquiry and that I need to reflect and link more. I would have liked to explain how the students would benefit from active involvement and should have emphasised that in the quantitative research they would be involved in recording and processing the findings. In my methods I should have stated potential problems in my approach rather than just stating what I would do. I had completed a lot of research and wanted to include more than was possible.

I kept my original questions and felt there was a smoother lead through the powerpoint. I felt my literature outlined the area but I could have expanded on the findings of references. I could have linked how my research would have achieved the 4 capacities of learning.

I felt the dissemination section could be immediately improved by explaining that I already hold network meetings and CPD and how this is effective and applied to the enquiry. Then explaining how this would help dissemination of my enquiry.

 I hope to link the methods of my enquiry to either a new section of cfe dance (ie  topic option within Higher) or as a new SQA subject which may provide a link for National 4 students who take PE but cannot appreciate the academic approach within Science lessons. These students are suspended in the current curriculum as they lack the skills for National 5 or Higher but have practical skills which would support participation to National 5/Highers in a Dance-Science Course.  I feel this is the main benefit of my project and I should have clarified this.

I liked the presentations where the format was spoken rather than written and showed the thoughts of the practitioner. I noticed that slow speech held the attention of the audience more and that speakers reacted positively to nods or smiles from their audience.

STATEMENT I MOST WANTED TO SAY…..MY PRACTICE HAS CHANGED FROM LITTLE REFLECTION TO MORE REFLECTION AND THIS IS PIVOTAL TO MY LIFE LONG CPD. Expect this in all future work……

FEEDBACK FROM SCOTT

I thoroughly enjoyed your presentation! Your a Pro! Jam packed with brilliant stats and great justifications – bravo!

MY RESPONSE

The opposite of Scott!!!! Though positivity is good.

Leave a Reply

