POST 129: MEASURING

MEASURING DANCE-MY REFLECTIONS

I began this enquiry process with an interest in how dancers move, their structure, alignment, energy and structural possibilities.

My interest in Biology focusses on anatomy, how the body works and what can be done to fix it when it goes wrong.

I took part in a study at Trinity Laban Conservitoire of Music and Dance which analysed landings from Jumps. The experimenter filmed my jump and landing and then used expensive software to analyse my landing. Never guess!!!! I land in parallel and when I get tired my left foot turns in slightly…..I knew this before I started, but what was interesting was the structure of the landing, the comparison with other jumpers and what effect training had on the performance (Did I get better……???).

I recreated the jump experiment for a male student who was completing an S6 project, but I had no method of measuring the jump-height or motion. Students completed consent forms and I completed a Health and safety form. We recorded a series of  jumps by male students. We collaborated with the researcher in London to ensure we could grade the landings based on efficiency of landing and 4 criteria. We paused video recordings of the jumps and measured the distance gone at the peak of the jump in a given time to provide quantitative data. This was a laborious process. For quantitative data, we discussed with the students if the assessment matched their feelings about their performance and landings.

Now I am completing a mixed-methods enquiry. I have collaborated with the Physics department and now have the programme Tracker to analyse movement through space, jump height and pattern. I have balance mats from KA Leisure to measure balance and equipment in the Biology department to measure stretch, temperature and pulse.

The department have provided qualitative discussion which supports this method to engage boys kinaesthetically and the potential for this to engage boys in numeracy and key problem-solving skills. The methods could lead to a progression route for those who under-perform in the curriculum.

I wondered why PE did not have similar performance analysis methods. Discussion with Yvonne (Y-dance) and Kerry (MED student and PE teacher) provided encouragement of the purpose of this approach to engage a new style of learner in fitness. Yvonne stated there may be a link to a Primary programme which may involve similar methodology….and her MEd Project (I do not know what her project is relate to and am a little scared to ask). Both ladies suggested additional analysis programmes which may allow additional analysis and alignment analysis which I feel may like with potential responses of the feeling of movement that participants in my research may feel.

The suggested programmes are :

  • Coaches eye: https://www.coachseye.com/                                                                                                        It gives instant video feedback but not yet clear how it analyses movement
  • Dart Fish:http://www.dartfish.com/                                                                                                                      This records analyses and  shares

Although video-feedback will be used within the quantitative analysis in my research it is not the main focus. I have found a few studies which show that this is a valid method to be used to gather data as part of my enquiry.

  1. Use of video feedback in Ice hockey: Shows how a mixed-methods thesis would approach analysis of the benefits of video-feedback. URL: http://publications.theseus.fi/bitstream/handle/10024/31444/Thesis%20M%20Lee.pdf?sequence=1
  2. Immediate benefits of video-feedback in school PE are described but no specific relation to dance. URL: http://www.ncl.ac.uk/cflat/news/documents/5414_CfT_FINALWeb.pdf
  3. How to set up video feedback: URL: http://eprints.ncrm.ac.uk/2259/4/NCRM_workingpaper_0312.pdf

I also hope that movement analysis could be linked to Laban’s analysis (the focus of the Context and Culture workshop 1: Creative Dance and my Laban Summer Schools, 2012-2016) to provide an alternative way of exploring Creative Dance which might suit a different style of learner and more specifically boys.

 

 

Leave a Reply

