POST 233: SELF-EVAL QUESTIONS -use of standard

I IDENTIFIED THE AREAS OF THE STANDARDS I NEED TO WORK ON IN THE PENULTIMATE POST.

I now look more at the Reflective Questions :

These reflective questions are framed to support, allow consideration and planning of my professional learning and development and practice related to the Professional Standards. They are intended to provide areas for reflection and self evaluation and are not a prescriptive or as a list to be completed. More detail is on the GTCS self-evaluation area.

Using the Standards to plan and support Professional Learning and Development

  • How will I use the Standards to inform and support me when planning my Professional Learning and Development?
    • I have blogged on areas which match the Standards.
    • I attend online sessions related to the standards.
    • I attend RCS Dance workshops for full-registration.
    • I attend dance classes two days every week.
    • I attend Summer intensives at Trinity Laban.
    • I attend classes by a range of teachers and different class genre at Pineapple.
    • I teach classes for Higher Dance, Extracurricular S1-S2 and S3-S5 and report on my experiences
    • I teach classes for KA leisure for children and adults and report on my experiences.
    • I will link my blog posts to each standard to identify areas for development.
  • How will I use the Standards to support me to identify areas of learning and development to enhance my knowledge, understanding and practice?
    • I will review my blog areas against the standards and look for gaps
    • I will complete a SWOT analysis
    • I will complete a GTCS self-evaluation wheel
    • I will be peer and GTCS inspectorate assessed against the standards.
  • What aspects of the Standards do I find most challenging? Why? How could these challenges be addressed?
    • I have got provisional GTCS registration. I find it difficult to achieve curricular hours. 
  • How can I use the Standards to support my self evaluation process in preparation for a PRD discussion?
    • Areas which have less posts or i am unsure of or which raise specif questions would be suited to PRD planning.
    • I can discuss at PRD meetings areas I have completed and areas where I need skill development.
    • Copying in my supervisor prior to the PRD meeting allows strategies to be completed that will support my CPD.

Assessing your Professional Values

  • How are the Professional Values reflected in my Professional Actions?
  • I aim to make dance accessible to all and instil in learners lifelong enthusiasm for dance through comprehensive education which creates a desire to explore the art-form further.
  • My dance sessions provide young learners not only access to technique which will safely develop strength and flexibility but also life-long skills which promotes confidence, team-work, and a healthy lifestyle. Together these build the desirable qualities of successful learners in dance as they foster understanding of how to progress and appreciate dance.
  • How have my professional values been developed and informed by knowledge and experience?
  • I enthuse learners in an inspiring environment with a range of activities which meet learning styles and abilities. I nurture problem-solving strategies during partnership or group work and critical skills by evaluating qualities in personal physical performance and choreography and observing that of others.
  • How do I critically reflect on my own assumptions, beliefs and values?
  • Who am I as a teacher? What has influenced me? What sustains me?
  • Dance is an enjoyable art-form where human movement communicates feelings to music. I believe that through dance teaching I can facilitate an inclusive and differentiated approach which will provide learners of all backgrounds and cultures with the opportunity to express emotions through movement and develop technical skills to perform artistically.

Assessing your development needs

  • What development needs do I have in relation to enhancing my subject/ content knowledge and pedagogical expertise? How do I plan my professional learning to enable me to develop in these areas? What support would I require to meet those needs?
  • In what ways do I engage with professional literature, theory, research and policy to challenge and inform my thinking and practice?
  • What informs my thinking when planning my priorities for future professional learning and development?

Reflecting on your professional learning

  • As a result of my professional learning, how has my practice developed in order to improve outcomes for all learners? How do I know? What evidence of impact do I have? What does this tell me about my practice?
  • How do I critically reflect on my learning with a focus on impact and how do I share this with my colleagues to lead improvement across the school and/or wider community? What evidence do I have of this impact?
  • How do I know the impact of my teaching on learners? How will I systematically gather and analyse evidence of impact?
  • What impact has my professional learning had on my colleagues or others in my educational community?

Developing accomplishment and expertise

  • What areas of accomplishment/ expertise would I like to develop? What professional learning will I engage in to support my development in this area? Would Masters level learning support and inform me in this development?
  • As I develop accomplishment and expertise in a specific area how do I share this with colleagues and lead developments within and beyond the school community?
  • How could I use the GTCS Professional Recognition Framework to support my professional learning and to recognise and develop accomplishment/ expertise in specific areas?

The bit underneath is the self evaluation table I looked at in the penultimate post and only here as a reference

Explore the Standards | General Teaching Council for Scotland

Self Evaluation Based on The Standard for Career-long Professional Learning
1 Professional Values and Personal Commitment
1.1 Social Justice
1.1.1 I embrace locally and globally the educational and social values of sustainability, equality and justice and I recognise the rights and responsibilities of future as well as current generations.
1.1.2 I am committed to the principles of democracy and social justice through fair, transparent, inclusive and sustainable policies and practices in relation to: age, disability, gender and gender identity, race, ethnicity, religion and belief and sexual orientation.
1.1.3 I value as well as respect social, cultural and ecological diversity and I promote the principles and practices of local and global citizenship for all learners.
1.1.4 I demonstrate a commitment to engaging learners in real world issues to enhance learning experiences and outcomes, and to encourage learning our way to a better future.
1.1.5 I respect the rights of all learners as outlined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) and their entitlement to be included in decisions regarding their learning experiences and have all aspects of their well-being developed and supported.
1.2 Integrity
1.2.1 I demonstrate openness, honesty, courage and wisdom.
1.2.2 I critically examine personal and professional attitudes and beliefs and I challenge assumptions and professional practice.
1.2.3 I critically examine the connections between personal and professional attitudes and beliefs, values and practices to effect improvement and, when appropriate, bring about transformative change in practice.
1.3 Trust and Respect
1.3.1 I act and behave in ways that develop a culture of trust and respect through, for example, being trusting and respectful of others within the school, and with all those involved in influencing the lives of learners in and beyond the learning community.
1.3.2 I provide and ensure a safe and secure environment for all learners within a caring and compassionate ethos and with an understanding of wellbeing.
1.3.3 I demonstrate a commitment to motivating and inspiring learners, acknowledging their social and economic context, individuality and specific learning needs and taking into consideration barriers to learning.
1.4 Professional Commitment
1.4.1 I engage with all aspects of professional practice and work collegiately with all members of our educational communities with enthusiasm, adaptability and constructive criticality.
1.4.2 I am committed to lifelong enquiry, learning, professional development and leadership as core aspects of professionalism and collaborative practice.
2 Professional Knowledge and Understanding, Professional Skills and Abilities
2.1 Professional Knowledge and Understanding
2.1.1 I develop deep, critically informed knowledge and understanding to enhance skills and abilities in relation to pedagogy, learning and subject knowledge.
2.1.2 I develop deep, critically informed knowledge and understanding to enhance skills and abilities in relation to curriculum and assessment.
2.1.3 I develop deep, critically informed knowledge and understanding to enhance skills and abilities in relation to enquiry and research.
2.1.4 I develop deep, critically informed knowledge and understanding to enhance skills and abilities in relation to educational contexts and current debates in policy, education and practice.
2.1.5 I develop deep, critically informed knowledge and understanding to enhance skills and abilities in relation to sustaining and developing professional learning.
2.1.6 I develop deep, critically informed knowledge and understanding to enhance skills and abilities in relation to learning for sustainability.
2.2 Professional Skills and Abilities
2.2.1 I develop and can apply my knowledge, skills and expertise through enquiry and sustained professional learning to deepen and develop subject, curricular, and pedagogic knowledge to be able to lead learners and the learning of colleagues.
2.2.2 I develop and can apply my knowledge, skills and expertise through enquiry and sustained professional learning to question, develop and account for practice in critically informed ways and provide an informed rationale for professional actions.
2.2.3 I develop and can apply my knowledge, skills and expertise through enquiry and sustained professional learning to systematically investigate, analyse and evaluate the impact of practice.
2.2.4 I develop and can apply my knowledge, skills and expertise through enquiry and sustained professional learning to critically question and challenge educational assumptions, beliefs and values of self and system.
2.2.5 I develop and can apply my knowledge, skills and expertise through enquiry and sustained professional learning to critically engage with a range of educational literature, research and policy to make meaningful links to inform and change practice, where appropriate.
2.2.6 I develop and can apply my knowledge, skills and expertise through enquiry and sustained professional learning to work to create, contribute to, and lead a collegiate culture, through collaborative enquiry, peer observation with constructive feedback, professional dialogue and debate.
2.2.7 I develop and can apply my knowledge, skills and expertise through enquiry and sustained professional learning to work collaboratively across disciplines, professions and communities, locally and globally.
3 The Professional Actions in Career-Long Professional Learning
3.1 Pedagogy, Learning and Subject Knowledge
3.1.1 I demonstrate deep subject knowledge and pedagogical leadership.
3.1.2 I lead curriculum development with a deep understanding of the place of subject knowledge and the wider purposes of education.
3.1.3 I demonstrate a critical understanding of approaches to teaching and learning, pedagogy and practice.
3.1.4 I deploy an enhanced understanding of pedagogy and how constructive relationships with learners can be developed.
3.1.5 I demonstrate a critical understanding of digital technologies and how these can be used to support learning.
3.1.6 I understand and develop the most appropriate contexts and environments for learning including outdoor learning, and am able to apply appropriate pedagogies for these environments.
3.2 Curriculum and Assessment
3.2.1 I understand and apply the principles of curriculum and assessment design to address changing educational needs.
3.2.2 I lead and collaborate with others to plan innovative curricular programmes.
3.2.3 I lead and work with others to ensure effective practice in the assessment of learning, including a deep knowledge and understanding of the policies and practices of assessment as required by awarding bodies.
3.3 Enquiry and Research
3.3.1 I develop and apply expertise, knowledge and understanding of research and impact on education.
3.3.2 I develop and apply expertise, knowledge, understanding and skills to engage in practitioner enquiry to inform pedagogy, learning and subject knowledge.
3.3.3 I lead and participate in collaborative practitioner enquiry.
3.4 Educational contexts and current debates in policy, education and practice
3.4.1 I understand and explore the contexts and complexity in which teachers operate and the dynamic and complex role(s) of professionals within the educational community.
3.4.2 I actively consider and critically question the development of policy in education.
3.4.3 I develop a culture where learners meaningfully participate in decisions related to their learning and school.
3.4.4 I develop and apply political literacy and political insight in relation to professional practice, educational change and policy development.
3.5 Sustaining and Developing Professional Learning
3.5.1 I develop skills of rigorous and critical self-evaluation, reflection and enquiry including how to investigate and evidence impact on learners and professional practice.
3.5.2 I am committed to on-going career-long professional learning, including postgraduate study as appropriate.
3.5.3 I lead and contribute to the professional learning of all colleagues, including students and probationers.
3.6 Learning for Sustainability
3.6.1 I understand the environmental, social and economic conditions of learners to inform teaching and learning.
3.6.2 I have a critical understanding of and engage with the ways in which natural, social, cultural, political and economic systems function and are interconnected.
3.6.3 I develop the knowledge, skills and practices needed to take decisions which are compatible with a sustainable future in a just and equitable world.
3.6.4 I connect learners to their dependence on the natural world and develop their sense of belonging to both the local and global community.
Self Evaluation Based on The Standard for Provisional Registration Self Evaluation Based on The Standard for Full Registration
1 Professional Values and Personal Commitment 1 Professional Values and Personal Commitment
1.1 Social Justice 1.1 Social Justice
1.1.1 I embrace locally and globally the educational and social values of sustainability, equality and justice and I recognise the rights and responsibilities of future as well as current generations. 1.1.1 I embrace locally and globally the educational and social values of sustainability, equality and justice and I recognise the rights and responsibilities of future as well as current generations.
1.1.2 I am committed to the principles of democracy and social justice through fair, transparent, inclusive and sustainable policies and practices in relation to: age, disability, gender and gender identity, race, ethnicity, religion and belief and sexual orientation. 1.1.2 I am committed to the principles of democracy and social justice through fair, transparent, inclusive and sustainable policies and practices in relation to: age, disability, gender and gender identity, race, ethnicity, religion and belief and sexual orientation.
1.1.3 I value as well as respect social, cultural and ecological diversity and I promote the principles and practices of local and global citizenship for all learners. 1.1.3 I value as well as respect social, cultural and ecological diversity and I promote the principles and practices of local and global citizenship for all learners.
1.1.4 I demonstrate a commitment to engaging learners in real world issues to enhance learning experiences and outcomes, and to encourage learning our way to a better future. 1.1.4 I demonstrate a commitment to engaging learners in real world issues to enhance learning experiences and outcomes, and to encourage learning our way to a better future.
1.1.5 I respect the rights of all learners as outlined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) and their entitlement to be included in decisions regarding their learning experiences and have all aspects of their well-being developed and supported. 1.1.5 I respect the rights of all learners as outlined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) and their entitlement to be included in decisions regarding their learning experiences and have all aspects of their well-being developed and supported.
1.2 Integrity 1.2 Integrity
1.2.1 I demonstrate openness, honesty, courage and wisdom. 1.2.1 I demonstrate openness, honesty, courage and wisdom.
1.2.2 I critically examine personal and professional attitudes and beliefs and I challenge assumptions and professional practice. 1.2.2 I critically examine personal and professional attitudes and beliefs and I challenge assumptions and professional practice.
1.2.3 I critically examine the connections between personal and professional attitudes and beliefs, values and practices to effect improvement and, when appropriate, bring about transformative change in practice. 1.2.3 I critically examine the connections between personal and professional attitudes and beliefs, values and practices to effect improvement and, when appropriate, bring about transformative change in practice.
1.3 Trust and Respect 1.3 Trust and Respect
1.3.1 I act and behave in ways that develop a culture of trust and respect through, for example, being trusting and respectful of others within the school, and with all those involved in influencing the lives of learners in and beyond the learning community. 1.3.1 I act and behave in ways that develop a culture of trust and respect through, for example, being trusting and respectful of others within the school, and with all those involved in influencing the lives of learners in and beyond the learning community.
1.3.2 I provide and ensure a safe and secure environment for all learners within a caring and compassionate ethos and with an understanding of wellbeing. 1.3.2 I provide and ensure a safe and secure environment for all learners within a caring and compassionate ethos and with an understanding of wellbeing.
1.3.3 I demonstrate a commitment to motivating and inspiring learners, acknowledging their social and economic context, individuality and specific learning needs and taking into consideration barriers to learning. 1.3.3 I demonstrate a commitment to motivating and inspiring learners, acknowledging their social and economic context, individuality and specific learning needs and taking into consideration barriers to learning.
1.4 Professional Commitment 1.4 Professional Commitment
1.4.1 I engage with all aspects of professional practice and work collegiately with all members of our educational communities with enthusiasm, adaptability and constructive criticality. 1.4.1 I engage with all aspects of professional practice and work collegiately with all members of our educational communities with enthusiasm, adaptability and constructive criticality.
1.4.2 I am committed to lifelong enquiry, learning, professional development and leadership as core aspects of professionalism and collaborative practice. 1.4.2 I am committed to lifelong enquiry, learning, professional development and leadership as core aspects of professionalism and collaborative practice.
2 Professional Knowledge and Understanding 2 Professional Knowledge and Understanding
2.1 Curriculum 2.1 Curriculum
2.1.1 I have knowledge and understanding of the nature of the curriculum and its development 2.1.1 I have knowledge and understanding of the nature of the curriculum and its development
2.1.1.1 I have developed an understanding of the principles of curriculum design and the contexts for learning. 2.1.1.1 I have secure and detailed understanding of the principles of curriculum design and can apply them in any setting where learning takes place.
2.1.1.2 I know about and understand the processes of change and development in the curriculum. 2.1.1.2 I have secure working knowledge and detailed understanding of the processes of change and development in the curriculum.
2.1.1.3 I have developed an awareness of connections with other curricular areas, stages and sectors. 2.1.1.3 I know how to identify and highlight connections with other curricular areas, stages or sectors, promoting learning beyond subject boundaries.
2.1.2 I have knowledge and understanding of the relevant area(s) of pre-school, primary or secondary curriculum 2.1.2 I have knowledge and understanding of the relevant area(s) of pre-school, primary or secondary curriculum
2.1.2.1 I have acquired knowledge and understanding of theory and practical skills in curricular areas, referring to local and national guidance. 2.1.2.1 I have detailed knowledge and understanding of the theory and practical skills required in curricular areas, referring to local and national guidance.
2.1.2.2 I understand how to match the level of curricular areas to the needs of all learners. 2.1.2.2 I know how to match and apply the level of the curricular areas to the needs of all learners.
2.1.2.3 I understand the importance of using and designing materials for teaching and learning to stimulate, support and challenge all learners. 2.1.2.3 I know how to use, design and adapt materials for teaching and learning which stimulate, support and challenge all learners.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 2.1.2.4 I know how to work collaboratively with colleagues to facilitate interdisciplinary learning.
2.1.2.4 I know how to develop realistic and coherent interdisciplinary contexts for learning, particularly in relation to sustainability. 2.1.2.5 I know how to work with the local and global community to develop realistic and coherent interdisciplinary contexts for learning, particularly in relation to sustainability.
2.1.3 I have knowledge and understanding of planning coherent and progressive teaching programmes 2.1.3 I have knowledge and understanding of planning coherent and progressive teaching programmes
2.1.3.1 I know how to plan for effective teaching and learning across different contexts and experiences. 2.1.3.1 I know how to plan systematically for effective teaching and learning across different contexts and experiences.
2.1.3.2 I know and understand how to justify what is taught within curricular areas in relation to the curriculum and the relevance to the needs of all learners. 2.1.3.2 I have a secure working knowledge and detailed understanding to justify what is taught within the curricular areas, in relation to the curriculum and the relevance to the needs of all learners.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 2.1.3.3 I understand my role as a leader of curriculum development.
2.1.4 I have knowledge and understanding of contexts for learning to fulfil my responsibilities in literacy, numeracy, health and wellbeing and interdisciplinary learning 2.1.4 I have knowledge and understanding of contexts for learning to fulfil my responsibilities in literacy, numeracy, health and wellbeing and interdisciplinary learning
2.1.4.1 I know how to promote and support the cognitive, emotional, social and physical wellbeing of all learners in my care, and I show commitment to raising learners’ expectations of themselves. 2.1.4.1 I know how to promote and support the cognitive, emotional, social and physical wellbeing of all learners, and I demonstrate a commitment to raising all learners’ expectations of themselves.
2.1.4.2 I know how to apply knowledge and understanding of areas of the curriculum which contribute to personal and social development and health and wellbeing. 2.1.4.2 I have knowledge and understanding of areas of the curriculum which contribute to personal and social development and health and wellbeing.
2.1.4.3 I have knowledge and understanding of current guidance on the use of digital technologies in schools and know how to use digital technologies to enhance teaching and learning. 2.1.4.3 I have secure knowledge and understanding of current guidance on the use of digital technologies in schools and know how to use digital technologies competently to enhance teaching and learning.
2.1.4.4 I know and understand the content of the curriculum in relation to literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing as set out in national guidance. 2.1.4.4 I have appropriate and increasing knowledge and understanding of the content of the curriculum in relation to literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing as set out in national guidance.
2.1.4.5 I know and understand the methods and underlying theories for effective teaching of literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing; and select the most appropriate methods to meet all learners’ needs. 2.1.4.5 I have secure knowledge and understanding of the methods and underlying theories for effective teaching of literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing; and effectively select the most appropriate methods to meet all learners’ needs.
2.1.4.6 I have knowledge and understanding of current educational priorities such as learning for sustainability. 2.1.4.6 I have secure knowledge of current educational priorities such as learning for sustainability.
2.1.5 I have knowledge and understanding of the principles of assessment, recording and reporting 2.1.5 I have knowledge and understanding of the principles of assessment, recording and reporting
2.1.5.1 I know and understand that the principles of assessment, recording and reporting are integral to the process of teaching and learning. 2.1.5.1 I know and understand how to apply the principles of assessment, recording and reporting as an integral part of the teaching process.
2.1.5.2 I know and understand how to use the principles of assessment, record assessments appropriately, use assessment information to review progress, inform teaching and learning, identify next steps and produce clear, informed and sensitive reports. 2.1.5.2 I have extensive knowledge and a secure understanding of the principles of assessment, methods of recording assessment information, the use of assessment in reviewing progress, in improving teaching and learning, identifying next steps and the need to produce clear, informed and sensitive reports.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 2.1.5.3 I have knowledge and understanding of the GIRFEC National Practice Model and how to apply this to support teaching and learning.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 2.1.5.4 I have extensive knowledge and a secure understanding of the assessment requirements of the major awarding and accrediting bodies.
2.2 Education Systems and Professional Responsibilities 2.2 Education Systems and Professional Responsibilities
2.2.1 I have knowledge and understanding of the principal features of the education system, educational policy and practice 2.2.1 I have knowledge and understanding of the principal features of the education system, educational policy and practice
2.2.1.1 I have developed an understanding of the principal influences on Scottish education and an awareness of international systems. 2.2.1.1 I have an understanding of the principal influences on Scottish education and international systems and understand the contribution and impact of these systems on teaching and learning.
2.2.1.2 I have developed an understanding of current, relevant legislation and guidance such as the Standards in Scotland’s Schools etc Act (2000), Education (Additional Support for Learning) (Scotland) Act 2004, the Equality Act 2010 and GIRFEC. 2.2.1.2 I have an understanding of current, relevant legislation and guidance such the Standards in Scotland’s Schools etc Act (2000), Education (Additional Support for Learning) (Scotland) Act 2004, the Equality Act 2010 and GIRFEC.
2.2.1.3 I have developed an understanding of the legal and professional aspects of a teacher’s position of trust in relation to learners. 2.2.1.3 I have an understanding of the legal and professional aspects of a teacher’s position of trust in relation to learners and how these affect my daily responsibilities.
2.2.2 I have knowledge and understanding of the schools and learning communities in which I teach and my own professional responsibilities within them 2.2.2 I have knowledge and understanding of the schools and learning communities in which I teach and my own professional responsibilities within them
2.2.2.1 I have developed an understanding of the sector and schools in which I am working, including: the role of education authorities, the organisation and management of schools and resources, improvement planning, professional review and development and how these connect to teachers’ professional practice. 2.2.2.1 I have secure working knowledge and detailed understanding of the sector and schools in which I am working, including: the role of education authorities, the organisation and management of schools and resources, improvement planning, professional review and development and how these connect to teachers’ professional practice.
2.2.2.2 I have a working knowledge of the teacher’s contractual, pastoral and legal responsibilities. 2.2.2.2 I have secure working knowledge and detailed understanding of my contractual, pastoral and legal responsibilities as a teacher.
2.2.2.3 I have an awareness of and respect for a school’s distinctive ethos. 2.2.2.3 I understand the importance of making a commitment to the distinctive ethos in all areas of the learning community.
2.2.2.4 I have an understanding of the roles and responsibilities of all staff within the learning community. 2.2.2.4 I have secure knowledge and detailed understanding of my own role and responsibilities as a teacher in relation to all staff within the learning community, other partner agencies and parents’ organisations.
2.3 Pedagogical Theories and Practice 2.3 Pedagogical Theories and Practice
2.3.1 I have knowledge and understanding of relevant educational principles and pedagogical theories to inform professional practices 2.3.1 I have knowledge and understanding of relevant educational principles and pedagogical theories to inform professional practices
2.3.1.1 I have knowledge and understanding of the stages of learners’ cognitive, social and emotional development which I am able to use to take account of all learners’ needs. 2.3.1.1 I have secure knowledge and detailed understanding of the stages of learners’ cognitive, social and emotional development which I am able to use to take an holistic account of all learners’ needs.
2.3.1.2 I have knowledge and understanding of learning theories and the importance of these in planning, teaching and learning. 2.3.1.2 I have secure knowledge and detailed understanding of learning theories and draw on these systematically in planning, teaching and learning.
2.3.1.3 I have knowledge and understanding of the ways in which natural, social, cultural, political and economic systems function and of how they are interconnected. 2.3.1.3 I have knowledge and understanding of the ways in which natural, social, cultural, political and economic systems function and of how they are interconnected to professional practice.
2.3.2 I have knowledge and understanding of the importance of research and engagement in professional enquiry 2.3.2 I have knowledge and understanding of the importance of research and engagement in professional enquiry
2.3.2.1 I know how to access and apply relevant findings from educational research. 2.3.2.1 I know how to access and apply relevant findings from educational research.
2.3.2.2 I know how to engage appropriately in the systematic investigation of practice. 2.3.2.2 I know how to engage critically in enquiry, research and evaluation individually or collaboratively, and apply this in order to improve teaching and learning.
3 Professional Skills and Abilities 3 Professional Skills and Abilities
3.1 Teaching and Learning 3.1 Teaching and Learning
3.1.1 I plan coherent, progressive and stimulating teaching programmes which match learners’ needs and abilities 3.1.1 I plan coherent, progressive and stimulating teaching programmes which match learners’ needs and abilities
3.1.1.1 I plan appropriately for effective teaching and in order to meet the needs of all learners, including learning in literacy, numeracy, health and wellbeing and skills for learning, life and work. 3.1.1.1 I plan appropriately, in different contexts and over differing timescales, for effective teaching and learning in order to meet the needs of all learners, including learning in literacy, numeracy, health and wellbeing and skills for learning, life and work.
3.1.2 I communicate effectively and interact productively with learners, individually and collectively 3.1.2 I communicate effectively and interact productively with learners, individually and collectively
3.1.2.1 I model appropriate levels of literacy and numeracy in my own professional practice. 3.1.2.1 I model appropriate levels of literacy and numeracy in my own professional practice.
3.1.2.2 I use communication methods, including a variety of media, to promote and develop positive relationships and to motivate and sustain the interest of all learners. 3.1.2.2 I use a range of communication methods, including a variety of media, to promote and develop positive relationships to motivate and sustain the interest and participation of all learners.
3.1.2.3 I communicate appropriately with all learners, and promote competence and confidence in literacy. 3.1.2.3 I communicate appropriately with all learners, and promote competence and confidence in literacy.
3.1.2.4 I demonstrate effective questioning strategies. 3.1.2.4 I demonstrate effective questioning strategies varied to meet the needs of all learners, in order to enhance teaching and learning.
3.1.2.5 I communicate the purpose of the learning and give explanations at the appropriate level(s) for all learners. 3.1.2.5 I communicate the purpose of the learning and give effective explanations at the appropriate level(s) for all learners.
3.1.2.6 I stimulate learner participation in debate and decision-making about issues which are open-ended, complex, controversial or emotional. 3.1.2.6 I create opportunities to stimulate learner participation in debate and decision-making about issues which are open-ended, complex, controversial or emotional.
3.1.2.7 I reflect on the impact of my personal method of communication on learners and others in the classroom. 3.1.2.7 I reflect on the impact of my personal method of communication on learners and others in the learning community.
3.1.3 I employ a range of teaching strategies and resources to meet the needs and abilities of learners 3.1.3 I employ a range of teaching strategies and resources to meet the needs and abilities of learners
3.1.3.1 I demonstrate that I can select creative and imaginative strategies for teaching and learning appropriate to learners as individuals, groups or classes. 3.1.3.1 I consistently select creative and imaginative strategies for teaching and learning appropriate to the interests and needs of all learners, as individuals, groups or classes.
3.1.3.2 I demonstrate that I can select and use a wide variety of resources and teaching approaches, including digital technologies and outdoor learning opportunities. 3.1.3.2 I skilfully deploy a wide variety of innovative resources and teaching approaches, including digital technologies and, where appropriate, actively seek outdoor learning opportunities.
3.1.3.3 I demonstrate the ability to justify and evaluate professional practice, and take action to improve the impact on all learners. 3.1.3.3 I justify consistently and evaluate competently professional practice, and take action to improve the impact on all learners.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 3.1.3.4 I create opportunities for learning to be transformative in terms of challenging assumptions and expanding world views.
3.1.4 I have high expectations of all learners 3.1.4 I have high expectations of all learners
3.1.4.1 I develop tasks and set pace of work to meet the needs of learners, provide effective support and challenge, and seek advice appropriately. 3.1.4.1 I ensure learning tasks are varied, differentiated and devised to build confidence and promote progress of all learners, and provide effective support and challenge.
3.1.4.2 I demonstrate an awareness of barriers to learning, recognising when to seek further advice in relation to all learners’ needs. 3.1.4.2 I identify effectively barriers to learning and respond appropriately, seeking advice in relation to all learners’ needs as required.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 3.1.4.3 I show commitment to raising learners’ expectations of themselves and others and their level of care for themselves, for others and for the natural world.
3.1.5 I work effectively in partnership in order to promote learning and wellbeing 3.1.5 I work effectively in partnership in order to promote learning and wellbeing
3.1.5.1 I ensure learners contribute to the planning and enhancement of their own learning programmes. 3.1.5.1 I establish a culture where learners meaningfully participate in decisions related to their learning and their school.
3.1.5.2 I demonstrate an ability to work co-operatively in the classroom and the wider learning community with staff, parents and partner agencies to promote learning and wellbeing. 3.1.5.2 I create and sustain appropriate working relationships with all staff, parents and partner agencies to support learning and wellbeing, taking a lead role when appropriate.
3.2 Classroom Organisation and Management 3.2 Classroom Organisation and Management
3.2.1 I create a safe, caring and purposeful learning environment 3.2.1 I create a safe, caring and purposeful learning environment
3.2.1.1 I plan and provide a safe, well organised learning environment, including effective use of display. 3.2.1.1 I ensure my classroom or work area is safe, well-organised, well-managed and stimulating, with effective use of display regularly updated.
3.2.1.2 I make appropriate use of available space to accommodate whole-class lessons, group and individual work and promote independent learning. 3.2.1.2 I plan and organise effectively available space to facilitate whole-class lessons, group and individual work and promote independent learning.
3.2.1.3 I use outdoor learning opportunities, including direct experiences of nature and other learning within and beyond the school boundary. 3.2.1.3 I use outdoor learning opportunities, including direct experiences of nature and other learning within and beyond the school boundary.
3.2.1.4 I organise and manage classroom resources and digital technologies to support teaching and learning. 3.2.1.4 I enable learners to make full use of well-chosen resources, including digital technologies to support teaching and learning.
3.2.1.5 I know about and am able to apply health and safety regulations as appropriate to their role. 3.2.1.5 I know about and apply appropriately health and safety regulations as an integral part of professional practice.
3.2.2 I develop positive relationships and positive behaviour strategies 3.2.2 I develop positive relationships and positive behaviour strategies
3.2.2.1 I demonstrate care and commitment to working with all learners. 3.2.2.1 I demonstrate care and commitment to working with all learners.
3.2.2.2 I demonstrate knowledge and understanding of wellbeing indicators. 3.2.2.2 I demonstrate a secure knowledge and understanding of the wellbeing indicators.
3.2.2.3 I show awareness of educational research and local and national advice, and demonstrate the ability to use a variety of strategies to build relationships with learners, promote positive behaviour and celebrate success. 3.2.2.3 I show in-depth awareness of educational research and local and national advice, and use in a consistent way, a variety of strategies to build relationships with learners, promote positive behaviour and celebrate success.
3.2.2.4 I apply the school’s positive behaviour policy, including strategies for understanding and preventing bullying. 3.2.2.4 I implement consistently the school’s positive behaviour policy including strategies for understanding and preventing bullying, and manage pupil behaviour in and around the school, in a fair, sensitive and informed manner.
3.2.2.5 I know how and when to seek the advice of colleagues in managing behaviour. 3.2.2.5 I seek and use advice from colleagues and promoted staff, as appropriate, in managing behaviour.
3.2.2.6 I demonstrate the ability to justify the approach taken in managing behaviour. 3.2.2.6 I evaluate and justify my approaches to managing behaviour and, when necessary, am open to new approaches to adapt them.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 3.2.2.7 I recognise when a learner’s behaviour may signify distress requiring the need for further support, and take appropriate action.
3.3 Pupil Assessment 3.3 Pupil Assessment
3.3.1 I use assessment, recording and reporting as an integral part of the teaching process to support and enhance learning 3.3.1 I use assessment, recording and reporting as an integral part of the teaching process to support and enhance learning
3.3.1.1 I use a range of approaches for formative and summative assessment purposes, appropriate to the needs of all learners and the requirements of the curriculum and awarding and accrediting bodies. 3.3.1.1 I systematically develop and use an extensive range of strategies, approaches and associated materials for formative and summative assessment purposes, appropriate to the needs of all learners and the requirements of the curriculum and awarding and accrediting bodies.
3.3.1.2 I enable all learners to engage in self-evaluation and peer assessment to benefit learning. 3.3.1.2 I enable all learners to engage in self evaluation and peer assessment to benefit learning.
3.3.1.3 I record assessment information to enhance teaching and learning. 3.3.1.3 I record assessment information in a systematic and meaningful way in order to enhance teaching and learning and fulfil the requirements of the curriculum and awarding bodies.
3.3.1.4 I use the results of assessment to identify strengths and development needs which lead to further learning opportunities. 3.3.1.4 I use the results of assessment to identify development needs at class, group and individual level and as a basis for dialogue with learners about their progress and targets.
No equivalent in side-by-side view. 3.3.1.5 I produce clear and informed reports for parents and other agencies which discuss learners’ progress and matters related to personal, social and emotional development in a sensitive and constructive way.
3.4 Professional Reflection and Communication 3.4 Professional Reflection and Communication
3.4.1 I read and critically engage with professional literature, educational research and policy 3.4.1 I read and critically engage with professional literature, educational research and policy
3.4.1.1 I read and analyse a range of appropriate educational and research literature. 3.4.1.1 I read, analyse and critically evaluate a range of appropriate educational and research literature.
3.4.1.2 I use what I have learned from reading and research to challenge and inform practice. 3.4.1.2 I systematically engage with research and literature to challenge and inform professional practice.
3.4.2 I engage in reflective practice to develop and advance career-long professional learning and expertise 3.4.2 I engage in reflective practice to develop and advance career-long professional learning and expertise
3.4.2.1 I reflect and engage in self evaluation using the relevant professional standard. 3.4.2.1 I reflect and engage in self evaluation using the relevant professional standard.
3.4.2.2 I adopt an enquiring approach to my professional practice and engage in professional enquiry and professional dialogue. 3.4.2.2 I demonstrate an enquiring and critical approach to my professional practice and development and engage in systematic professional dialogue.
3.4.2.3 I evaluate my classroom practice, taking account of feedback from others, in order to enhance teaching and learning. 3.4.2.3 I evaluate and adapt my classroom practice rigorously and systematically, taking account of feedback from others, to enhance teaching and learning.
3.4.2.4 I engage where possible in the processes of curriculum development, improvement planning and professional review and development. 3.4.2.4 I demonstrate constructive participation and engagement with curriculum development, improvement planning and professional review and development.
3.4.2.5 I work collaboratively to share my professional learning and development with colleagues. 3.4.2.5 I work collaboratively to contribute to the professional learning and development of colleagues, including students, through offering support and constructive advice and through disseminating experience and expertise, seeking opportunities to lead learning.
3.4.2.6 I maintain a record of my own professional learning and development, culminating in an Initial Professional Development Action Plan. 3.4.2.6 I maintain an effective record and portfolio of my own professional learning and development and a professional development action plan, including analysis of impact on learners and on own professional practices.

Leave a Reply

