254: Teaching adults

I have just returned from an SQA event in Glasgow and Edinburgh. This was the first event I have done as a Team Leader at Understanding Standards Events.

It was nice to teach teachers rather than students. I got tremendous praise at Glasgow (get me lol) and from the second session at Edinburgh. The third session had learning points for me.

  1. If someone has difficulty with understanding do the calm explanation that I did.
  2. If they still do not get the concept, then move on as the rest of the group will become frustrated and see the person at the end.
  3. In the 3 sessions that went best I did not sit at the head of the table but at the side and this worked much better.
  4. Talk slowly!!!
  5. I felt that people liked the assurance of moving round them but heard them say that someone else did this too much, this provides a wee note to self.
  6. I could answer all the questions, so this was reassuring

I found that I was directing investigations and looking at dependant and independent variables. I looked at the content of each section of a project, including effective aims, methodology, result analysis and statistics, conclusions, validity, discussion of results and procedure. We looked at Harvard referencing. All of this will be very valid when I write my investigation for RCS.

I selected a project on balance to analyse within my workshop. This example links to my RCS project indirectly and provided me with a way of analysing unforeseen hazards.

PANIC- TWO DANCE SHOWS THIS WEEK, BEEN AWAY ALL WEEKEND AND I STILL HAVE CLASSES AFTER SCHOOL THIS WEEK. I WILL MISS THIS WEEKS ONLINE EVENT DUE TO TWO DANCE SHOWS ON THE SAME DAY. MY ETHICS FORM IS DONE BUT I HAD OTHER RISK ASSESSMENTS, CONSENT FORMS AND LETTERS TO WRITE AS WELL AS LEAVE WORK FOR CLASSES AND TRAVEL ABOUT SCOTLAND!

 

 

One thought on “254: Teaching adults

  1. jmorganltpa says:

    Claire. What differences did you notice between dealing with teachers versus school pupils? How much are your pedagogical skills transferable?

    Like

Leave a Reply

