260: Female dancer age 13

Dancer questionnaires: student-questionaires

Student 1: Bexi

  1. Identify dance qualities you would like to improve and areas of your training which might support these.

Flexibility because it makes movement look nicer and stamina so that you can keep going till the end of the dance and not feel tired.

 

  1. Explain how you warm up before class.

Flex feet so no cramp. Jog, run, jump to support legs used when dancing.

 

  1. Identify which teaching styles benefits you most during warm ups.

If you do it with us, step by step and we just follow on, then that’s good and by breaking it down its easier to understand.

 

  1. Describe how your teacher adapts dance lessons to benefit males.

Yes, just inclusive so moves that basically anyone could do.

 

  1. Outline the ways dance supports your attainment and inclusion.

Build self-confidence and fitness it makes you fitter.

 

  1. Describe in what ways collaborations have improved your dance programme.

Working with the primary means:

  • I can figure out choreography on the spot and adapt it to the song.
  • Problem-solving, to deal with all the stuff that they do. They just don’t listen.
  • I’m better at the steps, if the kids need help so I can help them out. I enjoy that.

 

  1. Suggest if ‘dance-based research’ (measuring aspects of movement) could benefit your dancing.

Yes, it might show me tips and ideas to try to get even more flexible. They can do certain ‘tricks’ then we can    …copy them.

 

  1. In your opinion, what are the best strategies to inspire all learners

Always give confidence in what you are trying to do, even when I cannot do it.

 

Student 2: Romana

  1. Identify dance qualities you would like to improve and areas of your training which might support these.

Contemporary: I like Jazz better, I perform it better as it seems easier.

Things I’d improve…Technique better…..Core and alignment…….Movement quality

 

  1. Explain how you warm up before class.

The exercises and stretch general cardio

 

  1. Identify which teaching styles benefits you most during warm ups.

I like it, when they guide us, like you dance it with us and gradually do it less and less, without us realising, until we can do it ourselves.

 

  1. Describe how your teacher adapts dance lessons to benefit males.

Males? I don’t know! Probably equally.

 

  1. Outline the ways dance supports your attainment and inclusion.

Well, I need dance to get into Performance Arts School Soo I defiantly need it.

Asked how it could help other subjects too.

Team building, confidence, performance from music (expressing how we feel) yea soo. Dance can include other people if it was adapted.

 

  1. Describe in what ways collaborations have improved your dance programme.

I’m in a theatre school so I do singing, dance and acting. Suppose it helps me have more confidence in    …performance so you can fix yourself really quickly if you make a mistake.

 

  1. Suggest if ‘dance-based research’ (measuring aspects of movement) could benefit your dancing.

I will know more about Dance-Science when I like do the project so miby ask again then? Possibly help my technique. I have done Science and it was ok.

 

  1. In your opinion, what are the best strategies to inspire all learners

Be super motivational and not like, just be like and if you get it wrong, just be like, not shout at you for getting it wrong, just be like awahh, just try again and you keep helping until you get it correct.

 

Student 3: Sophie

  1. Identify dance qualities you would like to improve and areas of your training which might support these.

Flexibility, strength and technique

 

  1. Explain how you warm up before class.

I just hold stretches, then do what the teacher says.

 

  1. Identify which teaching styles benefits you most during warm ups.

Practice. Go over and over it so I get it.

 

  1. Describe how your teacher adapts dance lessons to benefit males.

Boys get more freedom in PE and to choose what they want to do. I don’t know if this helps them.

 

  1. Outline the ways dance supports your attainment and inclusion.

It clears my mind. I get focus.

 

  1. Describe in what ways collaborations have improved your dance programme.

I danced with professional dancers and it was well hard.

 

  1. Suggest if ‘dance-based research’ (measuring aspects of movement) could benefit your dancing.

Science would measure what I do but I don’t know how I would change my moves.

 

  1. In your opinion, what are the best strategies to inspire all learners.

Praise and encourage them.

 

Leave a Reply

