4: Male dancer aged 11 on date of interview

This interview was with Scott. My favourite student-even although they are all my favourites!! Scott is ultra enthusiastic, ultra focused, genuinely a nice kid and loves dancing. Not just hip hop but proper technique.

Scott also falls into my target group: he is a smart wee cookie but is under performing in primary. He has been held back a year as he has difficulty with reading. This has upset him lots as he is not with his friends.

Then, we have Friday dance: we are ultra positive, have a wee bit in class where we get out the gossip (usually school frustrations) and work kinaesthetically, visually and critically to dance but with no writing!!

I was most interested at Scott’s answers. Which were actually physically demonstrated in many cases rather than stated in words!

Student 4: Scott (Age 11 years two days ago)
      1. Identify dance qualities you would like to improve and areas of your training which   might support these.

I want to make the movement clean and angled with dynamics (I had to help here to convert Scott’s demos into the correct words). I want better clean movement and to look just cool and effortless. I find fast stuff hard.

I need to be more flexible. I’m not that bothered about strength and cardio. I want how I move to look right.

      2. Explain how you warm up before class.

Scott demos: cardio (running, jumping, scatters, hoping) large movements, some stretching mainly legs and torso. Big steps and slowly shapes from ‘Scott’s dances’.

  1. Identify which teaching styles benefits you most during warm ups.

I like to be shown so that I can copy.

  1. Describe how your teacher adapts dance lessons to benefit males.

We all do the same thing. I’m not sure if there is anything.

  1. Outline the ways dance supports your attainment and inclusion.

It makes me confident. When I had to show stuff at PE, I already knew what to do and I could comment on what should be done to get better.

  1. Describe in what ways collaborations have improved your dance programme.

I do land training to make me good at swimming. It means I get to talk to others. I work on techniques in bits rather than swimming or floating off at the same time.

  1. Suggest if ‘dance-based research’ (measuring aspects of movement) could benefit your dancing.

Yes, I suppose. It would let me see how I’d got better.

  1. In your opinion, what are the best strategies to inspire all learners.

Praise and enthusiasm and longer practice (Mad grin demonstrated).

Leave a Reply

